Request an Appointment

Google Rating
4.8

Facebook Rating
5.0

Yelp Rating
5.0

Do you wonder what our patients are saying about their time at Great Lakes Dentistry? Then we encourage you to read our reviews! Here, you will find some of the feedback from our patients after their visits with Dr. Van de Vyver, our caring dentist. To leave a review of our own, please contact our dental practice in Royal Oak today or visit one of our social media pages. We hope to hear from you soon!

Of course, don’t just take our word for it. Read all our Five Star Reviews on Google and Facebook.

Amber Steciuk
Amber Steciuk
12:17 05 Aug 17
Everyone there is incredibly friendly and skilled. I actually look forward to going to the dentist!
Marcy Beck
Marcy Beck
02:24 17 Jun 17
Everyone was so nice! I look forward to going back to complete my treatment after seeing the two specialists that the dentist referred me to. Thanks to all of you at Great Lakes Dentistry.
Marilyn Sullivan
Marilyn Sullivan
23:01 15 Jun 17
Always a great experience. Quality dental work, great staff and more than willing to get you in when you have an emergency.
Belinda Bombrisk
Belinda Bombrisk
15:42 10 Jun 17
Always an excellent experience! The staff, hygienists, and docs all make for a calm, welcoming, and overall positive experience. I always leave feeling very well cared for.
Z Schillinger
Z Schillinger
22:22 13 Mar 17
Kelsey is an awesome hygienist!! Dr. V is caring and remembers his patients, very engaged. Also, Sarah is the most welcoming, soothing and helpful front office rep; just love going to the dentist now! It makes a difference when you have a caring staff. I would recommend Dr. V and his staff to anyone who may have any fears or dislike of visiting the dentist, this office will change your opinion and you will love going!!!
Mark Moore
Mark Moore
18:44 14 Dec 16
After going to the same dentist for 30+ years he retired. A friend recommended Dr. V, that it would be worth the drive. I live in Canton so it is 70 miles round trip. The friend was correct in recommending Great Lakes Dentistry. His office staff is competent and friendly which usually tells you their boss is also. Dr. V was very courteous and put me at ease. I am so happy I have my dentistry needs met now that my family will be going over there also. Thank you Dr. V and your staff for a pleasant dentist visit. Great Lakes Dentistry is certainly worth the drive.

Jeremy Hostetter
Jeremy Hostetter
2017-09-07T16:49:19+0000
Katalin Boros
Katalin Boros
2017-08-27T23:02:15+0000
Very professional. The laser technology that was used was quick and easy. Dr V is highly skilled and made me feel very comfortable. I will be coming back for sure, and highly recommending this office!!!
Marchelle Budnik
Marchelle Budnik
2017-08-16T17:06:46+0000
Crazy to think I enjoyed my crown! Thanks for the fun afternoon and the great service. See you in 6months.
Mark B. Moore
Mark B. Moore
2017-08-08T17:59:29+0000
We as a family drive from Canton to Roseville because the staff and Dr Van has always done excellent work. I recommend them highly.
Joshua Ulch
Joshua Ulch
2017-07-31T23:20:39+0000
Anne Deane Russell
Anne Deane Russell
2017-07-31T20:56:05+0000
Always well taken care of at Great LakesDenistry. Staff are friendly and make sure you are at ease and comfortable when they are cleaning your teeth, etc .
Tia Murray
Tia Murray
2017-07-25T12:11:52+0000
Same day crown!!! This place is amazing! The staff is very friendly! If you need a dentist in Royal Oak, I highly recommend this office!
Linda Thomas VanConant
Linda Thomas VanConant
2017-05-08T21:24:09+0000
Absolutely love this place. Got a Crown done today, complete in one day. There was no pain three-dimensional pictures were taken love this new technology. The office staff is the most friendliest I've ever met. If you looking for a dentist in the N. Royal Oak area, I would highly recommend Great Lakes Dentistry.
Randolph Wayne Martin
Randolph Wayne Martin
2017-04-20T22:24:45+0000
Evan Cevora
Evan Cevora
2017-04-20T20:43:35+0000
Kim Sullivan
Kim Sullivan
2017-04-12T23:10:19+0000
Went for a long overdue cleaning due to complications from a car accident, was like I had been there the day before, fast, friendly, and professional.
Drew Byrnes
Drew Byrnes
2017-03-23T14:14:07+0000
Sandra Lola Troup
Sandra Lola Troup
2017-03-12T13:21:14+0000
Barbara Sullivan
Barbara Sullivan
2017-03-08T03:35:18+0000
Had a root canal and two new crowns - all in one morning! Dr. V and his staff were very professional and friendly and NO PAIN or discomfort! I would recommend this dental practice to anyone.
Jonathan Sigurdson
Jonathan Sigurdson
2017-02-28T16:50:13+0000
Excellent Dentist. Very clean place. Awesome staff. Very patient people with my issues with gagging.
Amy Thornton
Amy Thornton
2017-02-22T00:49:23+0000
Jeff Sanford
Jeff Sanford
2017-02-01T13:18:36+0000
Michael Ross Pomroy
Michael Ross Pomroy
2017-01-18T10:53:24+0000
Emily Freeman
Emily Freeman
2016-12-28T01:26:14+0000
Charity Cole
Charity Cole
2016-12-21T01:44:23+0000
We have been going here for a few years and my appointment today was wonderful as always. They are pleasant and quick.
Christine Zdrojewski- Miller
Christine Zdrojewski- Miller
2016-11-14T00:07:14+0000
Very nice place great service would recommend to anyone l was impressed
Georgina Herrera
Georgina Herrera
2016-11-10T23:16:48+0000
Shirley Bolton Wingett
Shirley Bolton Wingett
2016-11-09T00:02:26+0000
Thanks to Dr. D and the staff made my dental visit free of anxiety, due to their patience and encouragement the whole time. Dr. D and his assistant work fast and efficiently together as a team. Time went by quickly and before I knew it I was walking out the door. Thank you staff at Great Lakes Dental.
Valerie Fahey
Valerie Fahey
2016-11-03T12:46:21+0000
Dr. Van de Vyver was great. he made me very comfortable and his staff is very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend either of his offices. I have been to both.
Elaine Jirkans
Elaine Jirkans
2016-07-29T22:01:23+0000
Love it for our kids (7& 9) and us! Flexible appointment times and a caring staff!

Great Lakes Dentistry
5.0
Based on 4 Reviews
Thomas N.
Thomas N.
2017-01-30 06:20:28
Dr. DeVyver is a good guy. My family has used him now for about 4-5 years. I've also enjoyed those that work for him as well. He backs his work if something...
Bob S.
Bob S.
2016-12-07 17:55:18
Very caring and professional staff. I always walk away grateful for finding such a great dental office.
Jimmy C.
Jimmy C.
2017-01-03 18:38:25
I love my dentist!!! Every time I go in I am greeted by his team of friendly employees. They are not only nice but they are knowledgeable. His assistant...

  Kelsey is an awesome hygienist!! Dr. V is caring and remembers his patients, very engaged. Also, Sarah is the most welcoming, soothing and helpful front office rep; just love going to the dentist now! It makes a difference when you have a caring staff. I would recommend Dr. V and his staff to anyone who may have any fears or dislike of visiting the dentist, this office will change your opinion and you will love going!!!

thumb Z Schillinger
3/13/2017

  Everyone was so nice! I look forward to going back to complete my treatment after seeing the two specialists that the dentist referred me to. Thanks to all of you at Great Lakes Dentistry.

thumb Marcy Beck
6/17/2017

  After going to the same dentist for 30+ years he retired. A friend recommended Dr. V, that it would be worth the drive. I live in Canton so it is 70 miles round trip. The friend was correct in recommending Great Lakes Dentistry. His office staff is competent and friendly which usually tells you their boss is also. Dr. V was very courteous and put me at ease. I am so happy I have my dentistry needs met now that my family will be going over there also. Thank you Dr. V and your staff for a pleasant dentist visit. Great Lakes Dentistry is certainly worth the drive.

thumb Mark Moore
12/14/2016

  Always an excellent experience! The staff, hygienists, and docs all make for a calm, welcoming, and overall positive experience. I always leave feeling very well cared for.

thumb Belinda Bombrisk
6/10/2017

  Always a great experience. Quality dental work, great staff and more than willing to get you in when you have an emergency.

thumb Marilyn Sullivan
6/15/2017

  Everyone there is incredibly friendly and skilled. I actually look forward to going to the dentist!

thumb Amber Steciuk
8/05/2017

GLD Patient
I think that Dr. V. and his staff are great and they do a great job of taking care of my dental needs. They also are very friendly and I feel welcome there when I come for my appointments. They are also conscious of costs and insurance requirements.
GLD Patient
Everything was great Dr. Van de Vyver and his staff always make my visits as pleasant as possible.

GLD Patient
Since going to Dr. Shawn and Great Lakes Dentistry we have experienced excellent dental care in a well run congenial caring and comfort devoted practice that incorporates the latest techniques and technologies for a better overall dental health care.

GLD Patient
Dr. Vand de Vyver and his staff are friendly and professional and deliver pain-free dental care… plus the greatest playlist in the Metro Detroit Area! You will leave here with a beautiful and healthy smile. %

GLD Patient
Polite pleasant gentle and prompt. Dr. Van de Vyver listens to my concerns and answers my questions. I’m new and very pleased with the practice, and I’m a fussy customer! I give GLD 5 stars and will definitely happy to have found a great dentist!

GLD Patient
I was specifically looking for a Dentist that could use CAD/CAM in their office to create a crown during one visit and found Great Lakes Dentistry in Royal k. At my old Dentist, a crown would take at least two office visits (more if the temporary came off) and around 2 weeks to wait for the crown to be created. Dr. Shawn Van de Vyver did all of this in 90 MINUTES! I am completely satisfied. The office staff was friendly and concerned with my comfort. I will be recommending this office to my friends and family.

GLD Patient
Dr. VandeVyver is the best dentist I have ever had. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend him to anyone. He’s very up to date on skills, technology and knowledge. His use of the latest technology makes fillings, crowns, and other services so much easier on the patient. He’s fast, thorough and painless. The same day crowns are great! What I really like, though, is that he explains everything to you quickly and in easy to understand terms. He has a great staff as well. They are friendly, gentle and thorough.

Date of Review: 12-08-13
“I think that Dr. V. and his staff are great and they do a great job of taking care of my dental needs. They also are very friendly and I feel welcome there when I come for my appointments. They are also conscious of costs and insurance requirements.” -William T.

 

Date of Review: 12-02-13 “Everything was great, Dr. Van de Vyver and his staff always make my visits as pleasant as possible.” -Leslie N.

 

Date of Review: 11-23-13 “Since going to Dr. Shawn and Great Lakes Dentistry we have experienced excellent dental care in a well run, congenial, caring and comfort devoted practice that incorporates the latest techniques and technologies for a better overall dental health care.” -David V.

 

Date of Review: 11-22-13 “Dr. Van kept me totally informed as to what was happening as he extracted a tooth. I must say the experience was far better than I had anticipated. Good job Dr. Van!” -Jim K.

 

Date of Review: 11-05-13

“I had a lot of anxiety today before coming to the office. Marie , Sarah and Dr Van were very nice. The procedure went well. Everything was explained thoroughly. 5 star rating!” -Colleen N.

 

“Great experience. The office is really nice & relaxing and the staff are terrific at putting you at ease and taking care of your teeth. I drive a little further to come here because it’s worth it!” -Cheryl B.

 

Date of Review: 11-19-13
“I always look forward to getting my teeth cleaned at great lakes dentistry. Either of the woman who do this are very good at their job. Dr. VandeVyver is professional, but makes you feel so comfortable. You could always feel at ease to discuss any issues.” -Sue H.

 

Date of Review: 11-12-13 “Dr. Vand de Vyver and his staff are friendly and professional, and deliver pain-free dental care… plus the greatest playlist in the Metro Detroit Area! You will leave here with a beautiful and healthy smile.” -Emily B.

 

Date of Review: 11-12-13
“Polite, pleasant, gentle and prompt. Dr. Van de Vyver listens to my concerns and answers my questions. I’m new and very pleased with the practice, and I’m a fussy customer! I give GLD 5 stars and will definitely happy to have found a great dentist!” -Michael K.

Contact Us
(248)435-8880

Request an Appointment

Everyone there is incredibly friendly and skilled. I actually look forward to going to the dentist!
Amber Steciuk
Amber Steciuk
12:17 05 Aug 17
Everyone was so nice! I look forward to going back to complete my treatment after seeing the two specialists that the dentist referred me to. Thanks to all of you at Great Lakes Dentistry.read more
Marcy Beck
Marcy Beck
02:24 17 Jun 17
Always a great experience. Quality dental work, great staff and more than willing to get you in when you have an emergency.read more
Marilyn Sullivan
Marilyn Sullivan
23:01 15 Jun 17
Always an excellent experience! The staff, hygienists, and docs all make for a calm, welcoming, and overall positive experience. I always leave feeling very well cared for.read more
Belinda Bombrisk
Belinda Bombrisk
15:42 10 Jun 17
Kelsey is an awesome hygienist!! Dr. V is caring and remembers his patients, very engaged. Also, Sarah is the most welcoming, soothing and helpful front office rep; just love going to the dentist now! It makes a difference when you have a caring staff. I would recommend Dr. V and his staff to anyone who may have any fears or dislike of visiting the dentist, this office will change your opinion and you will love going!!!read more
Z Schillinger
Z Schillinger
22:22 13 Mar 17
After going to the same dentist for 30+ years he retired. A friend recommended Dr. V, that it would be worth the drive. I live in Canton so it is 70 miles round trip. The friend was correct in recommending Great Lakes Dentistry. His office staff is competent and friendly which usually tells you their boss is also. Dr. V was very courteous and put me at ease. I am so happy I have my dentistry needs met now that my family will be going over there also. Thank you Dr. V and your staff for a pleasant dentist visit. Great Lakes Dentistry is certainly worth the drive.read more
Mark Moore
Mark Moore
18:44 14 Dec 16

Copyright © 2017 Great Lakes Dentistry | Royal Oak, MI 48073 |  All rights reserved. DISCLAIMER: This website is intended for general informational purposes only. It is not intended to provide any dental or medical advice, nor provide any diagnosis of any kind. Contact your physician or dentist regarding your individual, specific conditions. Great Lakes Dentistry assumes no liability by providing this information and provides no guarantee or assurances pertaining to treatment, outcomes, or results described. All images used on this website are either free use images or copyright of Great Lakes Dentistry. Content may be used only with the expressed written consent of Great Lakes Dentistry and Shawn Van de Vyver, D.D.S.. All specialty services provided by Shawn Van de Vyver, D.D.S., a Michigan licensed general dentist. Shawn Van de Vyver, D.D.S. is not a board certified specialist in oral surgery, periodontics or orthodontics. Pre-treatment evaluation required for all procedures. Not all patients qualify for advertised treatment. 6 Month Smiles is a registered trademark and is not a substitute for comprehensive orthodontics. Advertised treatment length is average and individual treatment times may vary.

Get Dr. V's Book FREE

Just your name and email gets you your very own copy of iSmile: Why I Love Modern Dentistry and You Should Too. Enjoy! Please email me personally with any questions you might have about how modern dentistry can give you the smile you deserve.

Great! It's on the way now! :-)

A Consumer's Guide to Sleep Apnea

Get a free copy of my book "A Dental Consumer's Guide to Sleep Apnea" that will answer all your sleep apnea questions, and you don't even have to come in to the office!

Great! Your Consumer's Guide is on the way! Check your inbox shortly.